12:15 PM

It’s the absolute worst time of day if you haven’t had time for a snack mid morning, or lacked the foresight necessary to pack one. I lacked the foresight.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

I’m not sure what Mike’s excuse was.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

It was clear that for either of us to be good parents, sustenance was necessary. Mike, lying starving on the floor, enlisted help.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

She made a pretty good effort, but she’s only a little girl.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Summoning what little strength he had in his poor, malnourished muscles, he did his best to pull himself along.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

He almost made it, but sadly, salvation lay just out of reach.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Good grief. Clearly this was up to me.

This was no ordinary hunger. This needed real, heavy, hearty food. I thought long and hard about what various leftovers or sandwich materials we might have on hand but all I could think about was nachos.

Eureka!

But wait! I don’t want fake cheese today! I’m tired of fake cheese! I need nutrients! I need protein! I need to make my own damn nacho sauce!

So I did.

Black Bean Queso

1 cup cooked black beans
1/2 cup diced tomatoes (I used canned)
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
2 tsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp garlic powder
2 tsp chilli powder, more if you want more kick
1/4 tsp cayenne
1/4 cup of water
dash or two of hot sauce

Throw the ingredients in a blender and pulse until smooth. Pour the sauce into a pan.

Ok, so it’s black. I sincerely hope that’s not a problem for you because it’s delicious and will taste delightfully “cheese”-y. Heat the sauce through, adjust spices as necessary:


Yes, this WAS necessary.

and keep warm on low while you prepare your nachos.

Nachos can be as complex or as simple as you like. I could see the sauce being a good dip at parties, or as a snack, but as I said, this was an EXTREME hunger. So I started with a serving of chips (just because I’m hungry doesn’t mean the whole bag is up for grabs. Unless I say so. But today I didn’t say so.):

Added an ample amount of spinach:

Added my delicious queso sauce:

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Threw on some grated carrots. (Sweet potato would have also been delicious.)

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

My favorite Salsa:

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

And my favorite fruit:

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

For fun, see if you can match the other plates to the other members of my household!

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Hmmmm….huge serving, different salsa, spinach used sparingly, heavy on the avocado…I wonder…

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Small serving, refused a green fruit thrown on top, and demanded the same salsa as “Daddy.” Must be Mike’s 🙂

I placed our plates on the table, and within instants they were massacred. It’s amazing someone didn’t lose a finger.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Yep, everything was all better.
Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

But don’t worry. I took one last picture before destroying them.

@#%$ you, 12:15 PM!

2 responses »

  1. Who is that nice-looking young man with the great haircut? Anyways… Got tofu? Yes we do, and we will be cooking it this weekend in tacos. Or maybe nachos! But this cheesehead can’t substitute anything for cheese. Baby steps….

    Thank you for saving Mike’s life. Again.

    • Minn, we are gonna figure out how to ship nutritional yeast to you sometime and let your mom give it a shot. The key is to not actually think of it as cheese, but rather a seperate food with a seperate, but yummy flavor. It only “resembles” cheese, but that’s not a bad thing, just a different thing.

      I’m glad you guys liked the tacos!

Leave a Reply

