Money Saving Monday, The Doldrums

Readers, I am at a crossroads. Last week was by far the most successful week this blog has had, apparently people really dig gluten free, Weight Watcher’s recipes, and I am so grateful. Today, though? Today, I have no gluten free, points calculated, recipes to give you. Oh, I have tasty recipes, mind you, and you’ll be getting them, eventually, but for now I am bored and wondering how to keep your attention.

Should I do a little dance? Should I tell you about the awful runs I went on last week? Should I tell you about my stance on weight loss specific diets?

No, those suck. How about a cheap blueberry syrup recipe that you can use to hold on to your ridiculously expensive maple syrup a little longer?

Today, readers, is my first day of Spring Quarter and I am finally back to full time status. In fact, I am typing this during a break between classes (get used to these weird mid day posts, they’re probably going to happen twice a week). As you can imagine, this has caused me quite a bit of anxiety so when a tiny voice this morning suggested we have pancakes for breakfast I was all over that idea.

Oh god, they were good and I wish that I had come up with the pancake recipe so I could share it to you, but it actually came from one of my favorite cookbooks: The Student’s Go Vegan Cookbook. I did, however, get a bit creative with the syrup.

Guys, I love maple syrup and it is by far the BEST way to top pancakes and waffles (and if you’re buying that “pancake syrup” crap I’m going to find you and smack you. Hard. That stuff is HORRIBLE. Go ahead, look at the ingredients. It’s disgusting. Don’t eat it.), but maple syrup is expensive. I try to use it to sweeten things in my household but I’ve found myself using raw honey when I can, since it’s so much cheaper but is also less nutritionally void than table sugar. You can use honey on pancakes too, but that would only have solved one of my pancake problems.

I like to have a little protein for breakfast. Please don’t misunderstand me, I’m not a “YOU MUST EAT ALL THE PROTEIN, FOREVER!” kind of vegetarian, but I like to have a little in the morning to keep me full. Usually I have some peanut butter, or a handful of raw nuts, but I wasn’t in the mood for either today.

**Just so you guys know, peanut butter is also excellent on top of a pancake, especially as a midday snack!**

I got a little bold, and made this syrup.

Blueberry Protein Syrup
1 C. frozen blueberries (buy these if you can’t afford fresh, they work GREAT for things like this!)
1/4 cup raw nuts (any variety. I used walnuts because I had them)
1/2 cup water
Sugar to taste (a teaspoon should probably do you)

Put all of that stuff inside a saucepan over medium heat until simmering. Transfer that stuff to a blender and blend till smooth. Put it back into the saucepan to keep warm until it’s time to drizzle over pancakes.

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Look how pretty that is! So purple! It gave me the pep and sunshine I needed and I managed to get to my bus like a champ!

You may find you need to add more water to bring it to your desired consistency, and that’s fine. Also, if you don’t want to use any sugar or other sweetener, I’ve found throwing half of a really, really, really ripe banana into the blender usually does the trick.

Nuts aren’t cheap either, so I can understand why some of you are balking at the addition of nuts, but trust me, in the end this is MUCH cheaper than a bottle of maple syrup and so much better for you than “pancake syrup” that you’ll be thanking me for days.

Is it as good as maple syrup? Of course not! But it’s pretty damn tasty. Plus, it’s purple.

How do you economically and healthfully top a pancake?

3 responses »

  1. I really need to start reading more of these….good stuff in them….and no worries, i kicked the pancake topping out a long time ago 🙂

Leave a Reply

