Rice, totally boring, right?–Ashley Week Part Three

Ashley, I don’t envy you. Seriously, I had a week of great recipes planned until I realized that my oats were all cross contaminated. Since I didn’t want to write recipes that involve my readers going out and buying expensive, weird things, I had to chuck them all. Celiac’s disease, you have an enemy!

The good news is, I’m resourceful and have a crap ton of rice. The bad news is that I don’t feel like eating it right now. Not for dinner anyway. I’m bored, I’m sick of rice, and I don’t want to eat it anymore!

I lied, I love rice. I love it so much, I’m having it for breakfast.

Breakfast Rice
Serves 3
1/2 cup instant brown rice
1/2 cup water
1/2 cup cup unsweetened almond milk
1/2 to 1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
1 banana, cut into bite sized chunks
1/4 cup almonds (I like to crush them with a hammer before I add them, that’s not necessary though, or wise if you suffer from an anger problem)
2 tsp maple syrup

Throw all of the ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer for ten minutes, or until rice is tender. Then eat it. Easy. I like to give it an extra splash of almond milk before I dig in. Yum yum!

Uploaded from the Photobucket Android App

Sometimes I add a few raisins or chop some dates to throw in. I didn’t this time, though, because Mike hates them. It’s still tasty without and the banana makes everything super duper sweet. If you need more maple syrup, feel free to add it, it’s not a huge deal. In fact, you can increase the maple syrup to two tablespoons instead of teaspoons and the stats will remain the same.

It’s comforting in place of oatmeal, less boring than yet ANOTHER bowl of corn chex, and a whole lot cheaper than buying your own special oats. Make some for breakfast tomorrow and you, your partner, and whatever adorable children you have on hand, will be happy you did.

And if you want to have a grapefruit with it, or maybe a clementine, I think that would be ok, too. 🙂

Cook time: 10-15 minutes
Points Plus: 6

Eat breakfast! It’s important!

5 responses »

  1. Bob’s Red Mill makes gluten free oats (both steel cut and rolled!). Also, I’m sure quinoa is one of the weird things that you probably don’t want to go out and buy – but it is amazing and cooks way faster than rice and is healthier!!! We buy it in bulk from Amazon using their subscribe and save and it ends up being reasonably affordable. And it lasts!!! It’s easy and delicious and I highly recommend integrating it into your regular cooking routine if you don’t already. Quinoa with onions (or onions and peppers if I have peppers) is my go-to quick meal when I don’t feel like cooking.

    • Oh, I eat the HELL out of quinoa. It’s actually just as affordable as rice for us, since we buy it out of the bulk bins at Whole Foods. But, I have my suspicions that getting Ash to a natural foods store would have been kind of tricky, so I went with something simple. Also, this recipe is GREAT substituted with quinoa!

      • Oh yay! I love quinoa and try to tell everyone about it! Tell her about buying it in bulk from amazon – it gets delivered to her door! i kind of can’t believe that someone who is gluten free has never been to whole foods – they have a bunch of great GF stuff (I LOVE the Namaste pancake/waffle mix – it’s a wonderful treat!)

      • Conveniently enough, a well stocked Kroger carries quite a bit of gluten free stuff, as well as some of the weird, “What is that supposed to be…cheese?” stuff that I eat from time to time. The problem? Well, it’s more expensive! How dumb is that? The quinoa fairy will probably deliver some to her front door soon, though. (Hint: I’m the quinoa fairy. )

Leave a Reply

