“Thoughts on Eating Habits” or “Why Courtney Shouldn’t Be Allowed to Watch Documentaries”

Guys, I am not one to drink the Kool-Aid. Hell, I’m not one to make the Kool-Aid. To be honest, I don’t even like juice that much. I do like coconut water sometimes, though that has more to do with Pina Coladas I think, than the actual beverage itself. Maybe I should get a juicer or something someday, I hear that juice tends to be a bit healthier when you make it yourself. Then again, those cost so much and if I end up not liking the juice can I take it back after already having opened the…wait…crap…I was talking about somethi-OH CRAP I WAS TOTALLY JUST WRITING A BLOG POST AND SPACED! Sorry! Sorry!

I have a tendency to be very skeptical, even when it comes to things I already believe in. For instance, I believe that a vegan diet is very beneficial to general health and a multitude of studies prove this. At the same time, if you’ve been diagnosed with cancer, you should still probably get treated for that instead of relying solely on food to reverse the disease. Like I said, I don’t drink the Kool-Aid.

I hate bias in informative literature and film. I know it’s impossible to get around, everyone has a bias, but the informer’s job is to present the facts in as clear and unbiased a way as possible in order to give the best possible information to the viewer. For this reason, I have some HUGE issues with a vegan restaurant chain called, “Loving Hut.” Their food is delicious, I highly recommend eating there sometime if you’re lucky enough to have one near you, but do not, DO NOT, read the complimentary pamphlets or books they have for you to take home. While some of the stuff they say seems accurate enough, they have a very heavy bias and the way they present themselves has a tendency to make the vegan community look a little…well…crazy. They are not the only perpetrators of this!

Every now and then, though, I see a documentary that seems considerably less biased than is standard. Tonight, I finally watched “Forks Over Knives” with Mike, and I have to say it was excellent. It used real research to make its claims and showed many vegans that definitely aren’t the standard (including a very hunky mixed martial artist, and an equally hunky firefighter. Please don’t tell Mike I wrote that. Mike, if you’re reading this, you’re the sexiest vegan I’ve ever met). What really interested me though, was the difference a plant based diet made in heart disease and cancer rates. The facts were impossible to ignore, plant based, whole foods are good for you and your overall quality of life.

I really wish, though, that they had spent more time exploring what one speaker said about poverty and nutrition. It is becoming clear that poverty and poor health are intertwined. I’ve heard, over and over again, that this is all a product of education. Because, since I’m poor, I have no idea what calories are or the benefit of vegetables, clearly. Unfortunately, the fact of the matter is that crappy food is cheap and fast. When you are working two jobs to put food on the table, you don’t have time to prepare that food, and probably don’t have the resources to just pop in to the local farmers market for fresh veggies. No, unfortunately, you have the time and money for McDonalds or a TV dinner.

Don’t do it! I did that for YEARS and while I understand the need to feed your family quickly and within your means, you can do so much better! And I’m going to show you how, every Friday, until someone says this is a bad idea. Because I want everyone, and I mean everyone, to feel better and live healthfully, regardless of their means.

So, next time you’re going to spend the ten minutes necessary to get something from the dollar menu, get this from your kitchen instead.

Quick and Yummy Meal for 3-9-12: Beans and Rice (serves 4)

4 servings rice, instant or otherwise, cooked (I keep this in my fridge, just in case)

1 can of whatever beans you want, drained and rinsed

1 can tomatoes

Garlic Powder/Chilli Powder/Soy Sauce/Hot Sauce etc, to taste

Mix together, nuke for a few minutes until hot, and eat. Have an apple with it or some carrot sticks and you’ve got a nutritious and well balanced meal that is filling, yummy, and cheaper than whatever you were going to get at KFC. This shouldn’t even be considered a recipe it’s so freaking easy. If you have some extra time, bake a sweet potato and stuff it with this recipe. It’s a yummy meal that only seems fancy. In fact, I’m pretty sure you can even make this in a dorm room. I should know, I was the floor cook in mine.

Anyway, this was barely a post, but hopefully at least some of you will go see “Forks Over Knives” and maybe think about eating just a little less meat and dairy. I have a feeling you’ll feel better fairly quickly.

And stay tuned for next Friday! I’ll be tackling Kale Chips!

See you Monday, guys!

 

5 responses »

  1. You can freeze rice super easily, and it will keep much longer than in the fridge, and keep a better texture. Then you always have rice ready to eat for a quick meal.

    • Yes! The same goes for Bulgur, though I know you’re abstaining from that for a little while. Truth be told, there are lots of really awesome and easy ways to eat whole foods super quick and super cheap. Now go hug your baby for me. Huuuuug iiiiiiit!

Leave a Reply

