A Disclaimer

I am going to go ahead and admit now, so there’s no doubt in anyone’s mind later, that I am not a nutritionist. I am a historian, and not a modernist either. The studies I focus on mostly involve very, very old things that shape modern civilization. You can ask me about it sometime, but for today I’ll spare you.

So whenever I post food advice, exercise advice, anything at all, you need to keep in mind that I am not a doctor. I’m just someone who has lost a lot of weight and is trying to stay healthy and keep her family healthy on a budget. I’d like to think that I’m one of the few “healthy living” bloggers who is going to be honest with you about this. Of course, that’s just me being self important.

The deal is, healthy living bloggers are typically people who have either lost a lot of weight or made significant changes in their quality of life, and now they feel great. That’s great! The tendency after that, though, is to assume that every single person is going to feel great if they do exactly what they did, or even that they have the time and resources available. The problem is, when the reader doesn’t have the resources to make something like “chia seed pudding” (I honestly don’t even know where to find chia seeds, though I’m assuming Whole Foods) or the time to exercise for an entire hour every day (I tried, my grades dropped and I started stress eating, completely undoing everything I was trying to accomplish with the extra exercise) they start to feel incredibly inadequate.

You have to understand that these are people who have made health their entire lives. I can’t say anything is wrong with that, but for those of us who have to pay the bills and feed a family on a normal grocery store budget and either can’t afford a gym membership or the hour needed to utilize it, that’s really just not possible. Besides, any drastic dietary change should involve tons and tons of research and possibly a trip to the doctor’s office.

Having read this, please understand that anything I post about food from this point on, is really just a suggestion. Do I want you to stop eating meat? Yeah, kinda. I’m not going to hunt you down and shove tofu down your throa,t though. Do I want you to eat less dairy? Yeah, I really do, but I get that you probably don’t want to do that right now. That’s ok. All I’m asking, is that maybe you give a recipe or two a try and try to go for a walk every now and then. I just want you to be able to feel as good as possible with the tools you have available. Call me a fellow traveler who’s trying to mark the path for you.

Ok, enough with the touchy–feely crap. Real posts are on their way. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

